Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Will a Battery Tender Charge both Batteries?

DontSlamMyRam

Reaction score
'19 CTD, I like to put all my vehicles on the Tender once in awhile to keep the batteries happy. I'm a noob when it comes to the dual batteries and charging. If I hard wire a plug in to one battery, will it back fill the other as well? Or do the batteries need topped off independently?

DontSlamMyRam

Reaction score
So they are married together from the factory I assume? Some form of MOD is required to isolate them if that was your preference?

flan

Reaction score
As your truck sits from the factory they will both charge if you hook a tender up to one of them. It does not matter which one you hook up to either, whichever is more convenient for your garage setup.

John Jensen

Reaction score
According to Battery Tender you should connect the positive clip to one battery and the ground clip to the other battery. That way, depending on what BT you have, the BT sees two batteries and can give you a readout for each battery. If you put both clips on one battery the BT sees both as one battery.

Also, to work properly you need a BT of sufficient amperage. Too low amperage rating and the BT cannot keep batteries at full charge. Been there, done that!

Last edited:
D

Deleted member 80

So they are married together from the factory I assume? Some form of MOD is required to isolate them if that was your preference?
You would isolate them to load test them, and/or troubleshoot an issue.

John Jensen

Reaction score
That's a tough question. It depends on the battery CCA and whether you are using one battery or two in parallel.