Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hitch Weight vs Payload

drisso88

Reaction score
Quick question as this is my first time owning a truck or really towing much of anything. Recently bought a '21 2500 6.7 Laramie with the intent of getting a little toy hauler and some toys. Fast forward to everyone still smoking crack in the house market, looking more like its more cost effective to get a nicer 5th wheel toy hauler and live in that for about a year until the market corrects. I looked up my max weights via the Ram towing guide by VIN, and it looks like my max payload is 2042 lbs and max towing is 16,740. Now the trailer I'm looking at is 14,300 lbs dry, so no issues with the actual towing (I think) but the hitch weight is 2,900 lbs. Does that mean I can't tow it, since it'll be hitched in the bed? New to this so any info would be great, thanks!

JA345

Reaction score
Correct, 2500’s (especially with the 6.7) have notoriously low payload values. You will be FAR exceeding your payload with that (and most) 5th wheels. Payload includes pin weight, hitch weight (my auto slide hitch + bracket is almost 400lbs…), your weight plus passengers, anything else you have in the truck, etc. That all goes to your payload. 1 ton 3500 is the way to go if you’re looking to stay within manufacturer payload/tow limits. My 3500 SRW SO Cummins mega has 4,090 payload for reference.

CdnHO

Reaction score
With most fifth wheels the pin weight will go way up once mom loads her stuff in it. LOL @JA345 is correct. You don't have enough truck for a decent sized fifth wheel.

RichM752

Reaction score
Save some weight by installing a BW gooseneck hitch, and switch out the 5th wheel hitch to a Reese Goosebox. Airbags will help ride. Still you are over payload. The 3500 is the more better option.