Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fuel additives? Hot Shot Secret

southern_yank

Reaction score
Snake oil, placebo effect, or best thing in a bottle since the invention of alcohol?

79k 2020 6.7l SO
Slight surging on inclines
Mildly rough idle
DPF refen frequency issues

Added this to tank yesterday afternoon, about 30 miles in so far. Seems like the idle is smoothing out. Can't comment on other issues right now.

Anyone else running this? Thoughts on it?
0d4a256d44b7d6569556ce6882465974.jpg

Sent from my SM-S908U using Tapatalk

Enve46

Reaction score
I’m new to diesels but been using EDT every fill up. Skipped a couple just being in a rush, saw .6 mpg difference. Driving, distance, etc all the same everyday. Not sure if it’ll fix your issues but I can report I saw a difference in economy.

Interested to hear what experts or experienced guys say

H3LZSN1P3R

You're doing it wrong
Reaction score
Sounds like the cetane boost is doing its job…. I would not waste the money on HSS when power service is cheaper, does the same thing and is the only one approved by cummins

AH64ID

Staff member
Reaction score
I’ve ran additives off and on over the years and never seen any appreciable benefit, at least not enough to warrant use every tank.

I will still run an occasional cleaner/lubricity additive and will use stuff for cold weather (Cetane/cold flow) when conditions warrant.

John Jensen

Reaction score
Hotshots additives are legitimate and do what they advertise

southern_yank

Reaction score