Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What are you monitoring with digital monitors

phillips66

Reaction score
I’m new to diesel motors and thanks for all the information you guys supply here, and thanks to Will_t for all your info on the idash.
my question is what is everyone monerting with there guages and why? I know the egt v1 is what banks is calling it and everyone says wait until it gets under 400 before shutting the truck down. What as a newbie should I be watching/monirting?

thanks in advance

toyboy1980

Reaction score
I’m new to diesel motors and thanks for all the information you guys supply here, and thanks to Will_t for all your info on the idash.
my question is what is everyone monerting with there guages and why? I know the egt v1 is what banks is calling it and everyone says wait until it gets under 400 before shutting the truck down. What as a newbie should I be watching/monirting?

thanks in advance
I’m doing EGT, RPM, Boost PSI, Coolant Temp, Trans Temp, Batt Voltage, and Fuel Level %

Will_T

Reaction score
Here is a photo of mine as it normally is. A few of the fields are things I am not sure that I will keep or change. For example "DPFOP1" I guess that does not make sense by itself as you would also need to have the inlet pressure "DPFIP1" to compare. But I don't know for sure how that works. Also I am not sure that AAT is useful as it is always very close to the temps the truck's dash already displays. And battery voltage is not really necessary. So I have 3 fields that could be used for things more useful. Just have not figured out what those are yet. I will be watching this thread to see what others are monitoring and hopefully be able to change those out for better parameters.