Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jerico83

Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to RAM trucks and HD trucks in general. I'm sure this topic has been discussed in the past and maybe someone can give me the link to it or perhaps you guys can help a brother out with some of your wisdom.
I have a couple question and I hope i can get some help.

I'm looking to get a 3500 Megacab with either the regular Cummins or maybe the HO Cummins, not sure yet. I've seen that the regular Cummins comes with the 68 transmission. Is that a good tranny? I know that the upgrade to the HO Cummins with the Aisin tranny is a few thousand more but I'd like to save some money too.

Also looking into getting a Fifth Wheel:

Sandpiper 384QB0K
GVWR 16,132
Hitch weight 2,261

As you can see the FW is on the heavier side but I have seen videos of people towing similar weight with a SRW. I'm not sure if I should go with a SRW or if i should go with the dually. Not to offend any of you here but I prefer the look of the SRW better.
I'll be towing only a few times a year so I won't be on the road that much, this will also be my daily driver and I live in the city.
What are your thoughts on this? Do you think I'll be ok with a SRW?

Thank you all.

slvrsix7

Reaction score