Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Looking to try to upgrade my 2020 Ram 2500 to handle a fifth wheel - like a 3500

The_Timmay!

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm fairly new to owning a 2500 (bought the gas version Oct 2020 and upgraded to a diesel June 2022) and now that we have a heavier duty truck, we love how well it tows. We currently have a 38' bumper pull travel trailer that weighs around 10k lbs and with the weight distribution hitch, it's fairly level and easy to tow. I think I have my wife okay with the idea of a 5th wheel, but after shopping them, it's looking like the truck can't handle a medium to large sized 5th wheel. An acquaintance mentioned upgrading the suspension in the 2500 versus buying yet another expensive AF truck and with the new rates today, I'm not excited of financing a more expensive 3500 truck. I see that airbags help to level them out, but I don't see much benefit outside of leveling and I'm having trouble finding kits or anything like that to upgrade the trucks payload capacity. Does anyone have experience with this or input? Maybe some direction to a good website with info to read up on? Many thanks in advance!

gimmie11s

Reaction score
This is a LONG/BIG conversation and you will get arguments on many sides.

Having owned a 2016 2500 and now a 2021 3500, I will tell you that you cannot make the coil spring 2500 handle, under tow, like a 3500.

That said -- I towed a 35' 14k lb 5er with my 2016 coil spring truck and it did an acceptable job. Nowhere near as confident as my 3500, but it did the job just fine. Where you will most notice the difference is while turning during towing. The coil spring trucks seem to turn much less confidently than the leaf spring 3500s. Kind of like a boat in water feeling during turns.