Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Understanding Weights from Scale

aterza

Reaction score
So I wanted to weigh my truck (it is not a HD, yet) Ram 1500. Here are the weights I got. I am trying to decide if I need to upgrade to a HD or stay with half ton.

Truck only (I was only passenger 185lbs, full tank of gas): Front Axle 3460, Rear Axle 2600, Total 6080

Truck with TT attached with WDH hooked up (I was in truck 185lbs + Daughter 150lbs and full tank of gas): Truck Front Axle 3400, Truck on scale 6800, Truck + TT on scale 11560, Truck Rear Axle + TT on scale 8080, TT only on scale still hooked up to truck 4603

Should I have gotten another weight? I am new to this, so sorry if I am ignorant. Trying to learn before we make long trips on road. I have pulled it before to a camp ground 15 minutes from my house and Truck did great, but we would like to travel farther with it.

Thanks for any feedback/help.

Last edited:

Brutal_HO

The Mad Irishman
Staff member
Reaction score
Multiple user ID's are not allowed.

I can see that you're currently online with two accounts.

Pick one and delete the other. Please use the password recovery feature if you can't login to the first account.

roegs

Reaction score
Am I reading this correct - your rear axle weight went from 2600 lbs empty to 6800 lbs with the TT attached?

aterza

Reaction score
Multiple user ID's are not allowed.

I can see that you're currently online with two accounts.

Pick one and delete the other. Please use the password recovery feature if you can't login to the first account.
Sorry about that, I broke my phone and then forgot password when I got new phone. I will delete one account.

aterza

Reaction score