Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tow rating confusion- what can I tow

Sapper-8

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to towing and have some confusion with all of the numbers. Could someone break it down to where I could better understand?

2021 Ram Laramie Diesel 4x4, 6.7 I6, 6.4 bed

My question, payload capacity of my truck is 2092, sticker on inside of drivers door. GVWR 10000, I am not sure of the curb weight or GCVWR of my vehicle. I have looked on all of the websites using my vin, but was able to find the information. I am not sure about what is included in the payload capacity? I thought I read somewhere it was only vehicle with fluids topped off.

I am trying to figure out if I could tow an RV safely with out going over payload or anything other than payload.

There are 4 of us in the family weighing 502 lbs, with about 100 lbs of cargo in truck bed and I have a equalizer hitch for towing.
Trailer information is UVW - 9291lbs. GVWR - 11295lbs

Any help or information would be appreciated

thank you!

Sapper-8

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to towing and have some confusion with all of the numbers. Could someone break it down to where I could better understand?

2021 Ram Laramie Diesel 4x4, 6.7 I6, 6.4 bed

My question, payload capacity of my truck is 2092, sticker on inside of drivers door. GVWR 10000, I am not sure of the curb weight or GCVWR of my vehicle. I have looked on all of the websites using my vin, but was able to find the information. I am not sure about what is included in the payload capacity? I thought I read somewhere it was only vehicle with fluids topped off.

I am trying to figure out if I could tow an RV safely with out going over payload or anything other than payload.