Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New to Diesel/Ram

Outdoordb

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I am totally new to diesels. I just recently bought a 2020 RAM 2500 with 24,000 miles on it. And a new 5th wheel. (getting set up for retirement)
I know nothing about Diesels so what are the do's and don'ts of owning a Diesel. Thanks
1705354131257.jpeg

Lonestar

Reaction score
Welcome and congrats on the new to you truck and camper. I don’t have a diesel so cant offer up any info on that.

unclelala

Reaction score
I have a diesel but I'm certainly not your go to guy about diesels but you sure have a purdy truck. What I really want to know is the model number of your Alliance 5th wheel, it looks about the same size as my Cougar 24RDS.

JustARam22

Reaction score
Maintenance is key, they cost a good more to maintain then gas...

Every oil change also requires you change both fuel filters

Typically around 300.00 if you do it yourself
Obviously you have Def fluid which can be a diva at times

At around 65-70k miles you have to change your ccv filter

Outdoordb

Reaction score
I have a diesel but I'm certainly not your go to guy about diesels but you sure have a purdy truck. What I really want to know is the model number of your Alliance 5th wheel, it looks about the same size as my Cougar 24RDS.
It's the 26RD the same layout as yours, 28'10"

Outdoordb

Reaction score
Maintenance is key, they cost a good more to maintain then gas...

Every oil change also requires you change both fuel filters

Typically around 300.00 if you do it yourself
Obviously you have Def fluid which can be a diva at times

At around 65-70k miles you have to change your ccv filter
What's the milage recommendation on oil changes. What's the breakdown on that cost?

Outdoordb

Reaction score