Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Learning about factory air suspension

Clayinfl

Reaction score
Hi all, new to Ram 2500 truck. Towing rvs for 4 years so far with a 1500. I have a new 2500 with factory air suspension. I am looking for any resources anyone may have discovered that explains how to correctly use the “alt height” feature. Sales team was not much help. I have not found much here, in the manual or RAM website. Is there anyone who has been using for a bumper pull trailer? What does alt height do for me? Can I tow at alt height to match a lower trailer coupler better?
thanks, sorry for a noob question, but I am a noob with this new to me feature.
thanks!
clay

Brutal_HO

The Mad Irishman
Staff member
Reaction score
Alt height requires a payload +600-750lbs and lowers the rear 1".

2500 with air will lower 2.5-3" using Bed Lowering mode. This is becuase it's 100% air sprung in the rear.
3500 with air will lower 3/4-1" using Bed lowering Mode IF there's enough weight in the bed. This is because there's still steel leaf springs supporting the rear.

bed Lowering will cancel after exceeding 8MPH. Alt height will also cancel if the payload is removed and the vehicle moved.

Clayinfl

Reaction score
Thanks for that. So what exactly is alt height used for? If it cancels after 8 mph. I understand how bed lowering is useful for hitching and unhitching, but I am not grasping the use of alt height? Is that for pulling out from under a fifth wheel or gooseneck hitch? Does it do anything with a bumper pull trailer?

JABAR357

Reaction score