Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Excessive/long crank time

DeadEnd

Reaction score
Curious to see how long your truck cranks when you go to start it? I'm new to the 6.7 but not Cummins. My 05 5.9 cranks really quickly, probably within a second or so of it turning over. My 23 takes what feels like 5 seconds of cranking before it starts. Just wondering if its normal on these newer trucks?

Ionicbrick

Reaction score
My 22 cranks for a few times before it kicks. Sometimes seems like it’s too long…

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

elephantrider

Hydraulic Lifter Crew
Reaction score
same. it doesn't always, but occasionally will take another turn over. my old '92 fired on the first bump, every time. my 3rd gen was pretty consistent.

mbarber84

Staff member
Reaction score
My 22 will crank what I consider to be the “normal” amount, but then intermittently I’ll get a “longer” crank. There’s no rhyme or reason to it that I can discern. It seems completely random. This was brought up multiple times before in various threads but I don’t recall a definitive answer, just educated guesses.

mbarber84

Staff member
Reaction score
Maybe I'm too "focused" on it. As long as she fires up I'm a happy camper haha. :)
You’re asking a fair question, and one that has been asked many times before. It just hasn’t been adequately answered as far as I know.

If you’ve ever owned a first generation truck, everything from 1994 to today has “excessive” crank at startup by comparison. Those first gens always started amazingly well. I swear all you had to do was breathe on the key and they were running.

DeadEnd

Reaction score
Was thinking maybe it has something to do with more sensors and computers on these things today. Sure is amazing how far they have come since my 05.

mbarber84