Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Diffs low from factory?

Transcend

Reaction score
Hi all! I’m a picky mechanic and when I brought the new truck home, I immediately went to checking factory fluids. Found the 9.25 AAM fluid level 5/8“below bottom of fill plug and 11.5 AAM rear diff to be 3/4“ below bottom of fill hole. Can not find a thing in the owners manual on exactly where the level should be. I assume it should be to bottom of fill/inspection hole?

Attachments

• 15EFE64F-F8AD-40B7-A957-E54FE25E2B77.jpeg
    15EFE64F-F8AD-40B7-A957-E54FE25E2B77.jpeg
    176.8 KB · Views: 40
  • 1F23921A-4D72-4B61-BE37-AA74D0570A74.jpeg
    1F23921A-4D72-4B61-BE37-AA74D0570A74.jpeg
    248.4 KB · Views: 40

flan

Reaction score
That appears correct. On these models to the bottom of the fill hole would be overfilled. Enjoy the new truck!

Transcend

Reaction score
That appears correct. On these models to the bottom of the fill hole would be overfilled. Enjoy the new truck!
Is there any documentation out there that actually states what the level should be?

CdnHO

Reaction score
On page 430 of the owners manual it states "For the 2500 Power Wagon and all 3500 model axles, the fluid level should be 1/4 in ± 1/4 in (6.4 mm ± 6.4 mm) below the fill hole on the 9.25 in front, 11.5 in rear axle, and 12.0 in rear axle.

Transcend

Reaction score
Well I guess that settles that! I appreciate it as I overlooked it in the manual. I knew it had to be somewhere. Called the dealer service writer and he told me to “just fill it up til it comes running out”. Seemed a little fishy. Now off to check the 8 speed tranny (helps me sleep better knowing this stuff is right).

Fluid And Filter Changes — Eight-Speed Transmission​