Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Cummins tick noise after shut down and vibration

wpgram

Reaction score
Hi, im new to the cummins world and im wondering if anyone else has this.

After i turn off the truck i get a few ticking sounds from the engine... I have 1900 KM on the truck. THANKS FOR THE REPLYS THAT THIS IS NORMAL

ANYBODY KNOW WHAT THIS WOULD BE?
Second i have a small vibration at 65km/hr i feel it start at 63 and by 68 its gone. mostly in the pedel i feel it and can slightly hear it. only think i have done to the truck is put 35" duratracs on.

Last edited:

MegaDave

Reaction score
The ticks are normal. The truck is doing it’s thing. I’ve heard it’s DEF related but definitely normal. Mine does it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Brutal_HO

The Mad Irishman
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to HDRams!

The sound is the DEF system purging to prevent evaporation in the heat, or freezing in the cold.

Check your tire balance.

Say goodbye to your warranty.

wpgram

Reaction score
Thanks! i was thinking tire too...

Ya i know about the warranty.... the local installers make it look 100% stock.. so we will see

patricio2626

Reaction score
You know wpgram, I also thought about doing delete for power + mileage but then I came across this: https://www.thoroughbreddiesel.com/cme-ez-1319/ (Calibrated Power EZ LYNK AutoAgent 2.0). You're supposed to be able to flash back to stock in case you need to not leave any fingerprint. Claims to be well-mannered, no drone, no smoke, leaves emissions devices intact.

elephantrider

Hydraulic Lifter Crew
Reaction score