Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Concerns with the DPF gauge not registering or moving

Blueticks

Reaction score
Hi Folks
Just took delivery of my 2019 ram 2500 Laramie in march. Been a great truck up to this point. I had a blind spot alert unavailable that led to a gambit of issues such as intermittent windows, radio, HVAC ext...Anyway got that sorted by replacing a model in the drivers door. That leads me to my concern. Prior to this happening, I was watching periofically, my DPF gauge to keep an eye on it. I am new to diesel engines. I never moved. NEVER. When I got my truck back from the dealer it read about 20% for a couple of days. Then on a sat. night I received the "Automatic Exhaust Regeneration In Progress" I figured I would run it down the Highway the next day as many forums and the book suggest. Next day the message was gone. I took it for a ride and the gauge never moved. I even let it idle for 45 minutes...nothing. After what recently happened, electronically, I am skeptic that there is a problem with the gauge. Does anyone else have a similar experience with their DPF gauge. Should I be concerned or are these 2019 RAMS or is the new exhaust system that good that I really should not be worried at all? (SRY for the winded text)

elephantrider

Hydraulic Lifter Crew
Reaction score
mine never showed me anything but zero % for the 10k miles it was relevant. it did regens periodically but that gauge never moved.

Blueticks

Reaction score
Yup...I don't even get that...I wish someone ensure me that these newer rams are just burning fuel more efficiently as I have read in other blogs

zhauler

Reaction score
I haven't really been paying attention but I use diesel kleen every other fill...