Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

87 octane vs 89 octane, fuel economy differences

Firebird

Reaction score
I have been running 89 octane since day 1 in my 2023 6.4, and my average economy in town is 12.5 hand calculated. After reading on here about folks using 87 octane, I decided to switch over to see if any difference. Well, after running 87 for 3 tanks, my hand calculated economy has dropped to 11mpg. Same gas stations, same roads, same speeds. I will switch back to 89 now. Truck has 3300 miles on it.

Grateful Dad

Reaction score
I ran nothing but 89 in my ‘21 but decided to give 87 a go with the ‘24. Only thru the first tank so didn’t calculate that one yet but it looks like I’m getting maybe 11.5

Truck only has a smidge over 400 miles on it so it’s a bit early.

Pitboss44

Reaction score
That’s pretty much exactly the mpg difference I got between 87 and 89 but it’s $0.50 more for 89 here. So $3.09(87)/ $3.59(89)=11/12.5 mpg it works out to something stupid like .7 miles per dollar more cost effective to run 87

Firebird

Reaction score
Fortunately, mid grade is $3.09 here

Crusty old shellback

Reaction score
No need to waste money on high octane fuels. These are not high compression engines, so they do not require the higher octane.

Lots of factors come into play for the MPG, so saying you got worse by switching to a lower octane is not really accurate.
Sart/stops. Acceleration differences. Different roads. Different temps, different amount of idle time, etc will make a difference.
Now if you did this in a controlled environment with controlled fuels, then the results could be acepted.

I've used the same fuel on the same roads and vary from 11 to 14 MPG. It all depends on throttle, speed and idle time.