Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Pre purchase recommendations?

tegguy

Reaction score
I currently have a 2004 Ram 1500 quad cab 8ft bed with the 5.7 Hemi which I've owned since 2008. The truck currently has 80,000 miles (yes that's not a typo). The truck had been a secondary vehicle for quite a while until recently which it has been used to commute to work 3-4 days a week ~15 miles each way. The ram has been a great truck and there is nothing majorly wrong with it but I can tell some stuff is start to show it's age (like glue on arm rest and headliner).

The wife and I have been considering a new vehicle for a couple years now but the price skyrocket of Covid made us wait and keep our current vehicles but recently it seems like maybe the market is starting to slow down and we're thinking now might be a time to buy.

I've been eyeing a 2500 with the Cummins for a while (been a bit of a dream truck) because we tend to keep vehicles for a long time and want to plan for the future. We have 2 small boys as well.

I've been thinking about a 2500 Limited with the Mega cab but I don't know if that's the right move...

My requirements
- ideally 10000 pound towing capacity with 1000 pound payload at the same time (2000 total payload)... I don't tow much but I want the ability to if we buy a trailer or something or to tow my classic
- surround view camera, blind spot monitor, 12" screen, adaptive cruise
- rambox is a must
- Cummins is a want
- cargo divider and tie downs

Any comments/thoughts/ suggestions? Also any indications on how much below MSRP to offer? This is central Florida

wrvond

Reaction score