Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Power wagon terrible mpg

Grimlock

Reaction score
Hello all, I am new to Ram ownership and this forum. I recently bought a 19 power wagon 27000 miles on it with 35s that I do really like but the mpg is appalling. Around town I can get in the mid teens but the average is much lower because anytime you get near the gas pedal it drops to like 6 so it destroys the average. This is all in a totally unloaded vehicle. I drive 20-30 minutes to and from work on open highway. At 70 and up steady state cruising on flat level road it says 10mpg. I’m getting about 270 miles per tank also. My driving is very normal and a good combination of town and highway.
I have been looking for answers on the forums etc and while there is a lot of discussion about the mileage no one seems to have any real answers. I see a lot of people saying they get mid or high teens on the highway, if that is true it’s really concerning. I know this truck has the MDS system but I can’t tell if it’s operating or not. I never hear or feel any change in the way it runs so maybe that is causing the mileage. There is no engine light or anything so seems unlikely there is an issue with that.
Any help or insights will be greatly appreciated.

Crusty old shellback

Reaction score
Do you know if the previous owner recalibrated for the larger tires?
I've got a 21 with 35s and recalibrated and get about 13 plus doing 70.

Grimlock

Reaction score
I have no idea but the miles per hour between gauge and my navigation is pretty close. Also the tire circumstance difference is less than 7% so wouldn’t the maximum discrepancy be .7 mpg per 10mpg? I am getting about 270 miles from a tank which comes out to 10.8 mpg so it seems accurate.

Crusty old shellback

Reaction score