Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PCM wireless update

startrek

Reaction score
How likely is it that FCA could send a recall PCM update thru your nav antenna without your knowledge?

thestuarts

Reaction score
I believe FCA can't update the PCM/TCM/BCM/?CM over the air in the 2019/2020 trucks. FCA can update the UConnect, maps, and possibly other systems, but not the control modules.

I will write a long story explaining why I believe that to be true.

For some back story, I was a senior software engineer on the Xbox team for 11 years. I worked on the Xbox operating system for the original Xbox, Xbox 360, and Xbox One. I also was one of a handful of developers who worked on the Xbox 360 WiFi drivers. In my personal time, I reverse-engineer firmware in hardware devices like the PS3, WiFi routers, security cameras, etc. I no longer work at Microsoft, but I still reverse-engineer software on a regular basis.

When I worked at Microsoft, we designed the Xbox hypervisor, operating system, optical disc drives, and the WiFi adapter so they can all be updated over the network, but it took a lot of engineering and testing to make that possible.