Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2024 Ram 2500 Cummins Auxiliary fuel tank

Kennytt

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I’m new to this site, but I’ve read a lot of helpful posts. Has anyone installed an auxiliary fuel tank with a gravity flow line connected to the fuel filler neck on a 24 Ram diesel? I installed one on my 2017 Ram and kept the fuel valve open and never had a over flow or leak. I tried the same setup with my 2023 Ram and the OEM tank would fill up and over flow. I now have a 2024 Ram Bighorn and was wondering if anyone has installed a auxiliary tank on theirs and if they had any problems or ideas?
I just used the standard auxiliary fuel tank install kit with the rollover ball check valve.

H3LZSN1P3R

You're doing it wrong
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I’m new to this site, but I’ve read a lot of helpful posts. Has anyone installed an auxiliary fuel tank with a gravity flow line connected to the fuel filler neck on a 24 Ram diesel? I installed one on my 2017 Ram and kept the fuel valve open and never had a over flow or leak. I tried the same setup with my 2023 Ram and the OEM tank would fill up and over flow. I now have a 2024 Ram Bighorn and was wondering if anyone has installed a auxiliary tank on theirs and if they had any problems or ideas?
I just used the standard auxiliary fuel tank install kit with the rollover ball check valve.
I have one on my 19 no issues and the 19-24 is the same filler neck setup.

Kennytt

Reaction score
Yes the 24 looks the same the 17 and the 23, not sure why the 23 over flowed maybe just a faulty flapper seal. I’ll try it again on the 24, worst case I might have to put a electric shutoff in the line. Thanks for your help.

AH64ID

Staff member
Reaction score