Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Ram 3500 Fuel Issues HELP!!

Billywaters795

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I’ll start this of with, I have very little mechanical knowledge! Which will also have to do with me explaining my issues.

I purchased my truck used with 98,000 miles. I believe I am the second owner. I purchased it because I started a hotshot company and after a fair amount of research, I thought this was the perfect truck.

After I hit about 105,000 miles, I installed a 100gal (used) auxiliary tank. I used a 3/8” fuel line to connect it to a T-joint that I installed between the main fill up line and fuel tank with a built in rollover valve. Basically the same kit from RDS. After using it for a week or so, i was pulling off from a red light and my truck felt like it was loosing throttle power. It would lag then pick back up and would be fine for about 200 miles before my check engine light came on and it was throwing up “Service DEF System, See Dealer.” I had about 18,000lbs behind me and couldn’t hardly get it to exceed 5mph. I pulled over and done a quick research to find out that a clogged fuel filter will cause this. I made it to a auto parts store, purchased a fuel filter and fuel water separator, changed it in the parking lot and after priming it for about 15 minutes, it fired up and the check engine light went off.