Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Another 3.73 vs 4.10 thread - placed order with dealer and second guessing my decision

jrhoads23

Reaction score
Newbie here. Just placed an order with my dealer for a 2021 Big Horn 2500 (Crew cab 4x4 gasser). This will be my first Ram - I am upgrading from a Silverado 1500. I had lots of questions when deciding what to order for it - gas vs diesel, 2500 vs 3500, Big Horn vs Laramie... and color :) This site was great is helping me research and make my decision. My order is placed and I have a couple days to change anything if I want... the last item I am still up in the air on is if I should go with the 3.73 or 4.10. I have read a number of threads on the topic - many deal with older models prior to the new 8 speed tranny. From what I read, the 3.73 was inferior when it was with a 6 speed, but the 8 speed changes that a lot. My order currently has it with the 4.10, but after speaking with some truck friends (none of them have a 2019+ Ram 2500) they say I should certainly get the 3.73 and I am starting to second guess my decision.

My justification is it seems like people have gotten the 3.73 and wished they did the 4.10. Not many people are the opposite of that.
However my big fear is gas mileage will suffer a lot and RPMs will be obnoxious at high speeds. This will be my daily driver so if there will be a large (2 MPG or more) difference, that might persuade me to change to 3.73

Now that the 8 speed has been out for a couple years, was wondering if people have some feedback on their thoughts on the 3.73 vs 4.10 after a couple years of use. I read one post and I think I should get the 4.10. Then I read another post and think I should get the 3.73