Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What size hitch pin? (diameter and length)

huff2462

Reaction score
Total newb question: I know we have a 2.5" receiver. What length/diameter locking hitch pin should I order?

(I'm looking at Trimax locking pins)

DevilDodge

Staff member
Reaction score
Standard ones work. 5/8" . So if you have had a hitch in a vehicle with a 2" receiver it will work.

I haven't found any extended length yet...but I also didn't look real hard as mine from my 99 and 03 work just fine.

I did however go to a 2.5" drop hitch so I didn't have to use the sleeve...but it moves around just as much as a 2" with the sleeve.

The 2.5" stuff has higher ratings though...and make sure you get the right ball aswell...if the ball capacity is less than the hitch the ball weight is what makes the max capacity.

huff2462

Reaction score
Standard ones work. 5/8" . So if you have had a hitch in a vehicle with a 2" receiver it will work.

I haven't found any extended length yet...but I also didn't look real hard as mine from my 99 and 03 work just fine.

I did however go to a 2.5" drop hitch so I didn't have to use the sleeve...but it moves around just as much as a 2" with the sleeve.

The 2.5" stuff has higher ratings though...and make sure you get the right ball aswell...if the ball capacity is less than the hitch the ball weight is what makes the max capacity.
Thanks for the info!

Yeah, I've got a pretty nice adjustable hitch (by Inventive Hitches) I use for my '13 1500 with the 2" shank and I've got a Trimax locking pin for that.

I just assumed I'd need to upgrade the pin for the 2.5" receiver. Glad to be wrong!

*Also planning to upgrade to a new adjustable drop hitch with a 2.5" shank for sure!

DevilDodge

Staff member
Reaction score