Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Service Def System See Dealer message

Raidercat

Reaction score
Had the message Service Def System see dealer message pop up today while towing my camper home. Message stayed up for about 15-20 minutes then completely went away. Truck is a 2020 2500, 11K miles. I pickup it up Pre-Owned with 6500 miles on it. Since ownership for 1 month I’ve added 5 gallons of Platinum Blue Def and just did an oil change last week. Def tank is about 1/2 full. I’m still very new to diesel trucks and the def system and my question is should i be concerned or just press on and drive the truck as normal? The truck did not throw a check engine light and never ran funny or anything, temp was maybe 40 degrees outside.

easye515

Reaction score
If I remember when that happened to me, it went away a couple times, then went into countdown mode. You need to take it to a dealer so they can re-flash the computer.

Raidercat

Reaction score
If I remember when that happened to me, it went away a couple times, then went into countdown mode. You need to take it to a dealer so they can re-flash the computer.
Ok thanks for the info I’ll make an appointment.

Raidercat

Reaction score
Following up on this post, went to the dealer today. Truck had no codes and has been fine since that Def warning see dealer message. Dealer said go drive the truck lol.

DerKomisar

Reaction score
Mine did this yesterday. 2019 2500. Keeping an eye on it in case I need to get to the dealer. Has been cold here lately so I was hoping it was the tank freezing and a good thaw would help.

Raidercat

Reaction score