Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Planning for Power Wagon to replace my Jeep and tow a travel trailer

redwinelvr

Reaction score
I am really hoping to replace my 2011 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon with a fully loaded Power Wagon this summer. I am eyeing a travel trailer with 6800 UVW and assume it would hold about 750 lbs of additional weight, so lets just say 8000lbs GVW and 800lbs of tongue weight to be safe. Since it is just the wife, dog and myself, I think we should be plenty fine towing the travel trailer with 500lbs in the bed? I am new to towing and know the Power Wagon is limited for towing compared to the rest of the 2500 line, but this seems like a very doable scenario. Please feel free to slap me upside the head if I'm missing the obvious.

DevilDodge

Staff member
Reaction score
Fully loaded Powerwagon is going to have about 1330ish pounds of payload...less than most 1500s.

The truck will have no issue towing the trailer, it just might have some excess droop.

1330 minus 800 tongue weight...leaves you with 530ish pounds for you passengers and cargo.

Good luck ordering truck and trailer...anxious to hear what you end up with.

DevilDodge

Staff member
Reaction score
I almost forgot this tidbit of info from the TFL video...1100 lbs payload on the Powerwagon they tested.

texas.yankee

Reaction score