Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

5th wheel question.

RedBull

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm a newbie but I've been lurking on here for a while, very nice and informative forum btw... I'm plaining on purchasing our first fifth wheel soon, we decided on Cougar Half-Ton 32BHS. The unit is 9,580 lb. dry and 11,500 GVWR, the pin weight is at around 1,570 lb. unloaded according to the manufacture specs. I have 2021 Ram 2500 Tradesman 6.4L 3.73 short bed with payload 3,030 lb. We will travel with 2 adults and 2 small kids.
Do you guys think I can safely pull this trailer with my truck?
Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

CdnHO

Reaction score
Based on your information you are well within the limits of your truck. Happy Camping.

whitexc

Reaction score
Don't forget pics!

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk

RedBull

Reaction score
Thanks for replies guys, pictures are coming LOL... We love the cougar and we already put deposit on it, I just want to be 100% sure that this baby won't be too heavy for our truck.

Bozo

Self-banned
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm a newbie but I've been lurking on here for a while, very nice and informative forum btw... I'm plaining on purchasing our first fifth wheel soon, we decided on Cougar Half-Ton 32BHS. The unit is 9,580 lb. dry and 11,500 GVWR, the pin weight is at around 1,570 lb. unloaded according to the manufacture specs. I have 2021 Ram 2500 Tradesman 6.4L 3.75 short bed with payload 3,030 lb. We will travel with 2 adults and 2 small kids.
Do you guys think I can safely pull this trailer with my truck?
Thanks in advance.
Short answer, YES.

RV_Goose

Reaction score
plan on a pin weight about 2300. We load the trailer to minimize the load in the 2013 2500 truck. You should be fine if you watch your load in the truck.