Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2020 RAM 2500 6.4L - Lifter replacement at 19K miles - Update

sbpetro

Reaction score
UPDATE:

The regional FCA representative had my dealership add Lucas Heavy Duty Oil Stabilizer to quit the engine noise. This is what it sounds like now. NO IMPROVEMENT. Now FCA is dragging it's feet on what to do next. Come on FCA...fix my engine!!!

Please help me out HD RAM forum members. Blow this up so FCA takes notice!

Hello HDRAMS,

First off this is my first RAM purchase so I'm new to the RAM 6.4L hemi engine and all its glory and not so glorious issues. At around 7K miles my engine developed a loud ticking noise (see video). I took it to the dealer and they said it was "normal" ( I have this in writing from the dealership). After another 12K miles and at least 2 trips back to the dealership and evidence of the issue they finally decided to replace the lifters. I was hopeful for a day as the noise went away. On day 2 after replacement the noise returned and to my untrained ear sounds louder than before. After may discussions with the dealership service manager and the regional representative for FCA, who didn't hear anything "unusual" I've turned to you great people to help me out.

1. Is there an issue with my engine?
or
2. I'm hearing noises that are "normal" for a RAM 6.4L hemi

Thanks for your input

YouTube Video of engine noise:

flan

Reaction score
That sounds terrible.

Mikee

Reaction score
UPDATE:

The regional FCA representative had my dealership add Lucas Heavy Duty Oil Stabilizer to quit the engine noise. This is what it sounds like now. NO IMPROVEMENT. Now FCA is dragging it's feet on what to do next. Come on FCA...fix my engine!!!

Hello HDRAMS,