Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

1st oil change coming up

BigBlack

Reaction score
I’m new to the diesel trucks, I love mine and want to keep it as long as I can. I know there is a lot of opinions on when you should get your first oil change and what kind of oil to use. My main question is can I take it to someone you think is reputable and know they do a good job ( Jiffy Lube) and if so do they carry the top oils such as Ams oil or shell rotella and by going to these places will it void any warranty by not going to the dealer? I’m also going by my oil life gauge, currently at 6569 miles with 46 % oil life left.

npurdy1112

Reaction score
I wouldn’t consider Jiffy Lube reputable, at least in my area. Do you have many other options?

BigBlack

Reaction score
Reason I say jiffy lube is because I service my work truck there (gas) and the people are always on top of their stuff and not to mention I’ve seen a few diesels going in and out of there. We do have a Castrol and a handful of others that recently changed their name but I don’t trust.

ahhhr

Reaction score
I wouldn't go to Jiffy around here either - but as long as you can show receipts to prove you followed the maintenance schedule I don't think they can deny warranty.
Unless they analyze the oil and find its not to spec.

You don't get Grade A steak at McDonalds

npurdy1112

Reaction score
I wouldn't go to Jiffy around here either - but as long as you can show receipts to prove you followed the maintenance schedule I don't think they can deny warranty.
Unless they analyze the oil and find its not to spec.

You don't get Grade A steak at McDonalds

Agree. Also, if you have prior good experiences at the local Jiffy Lube then I don't see a reason to change. Just keep the receipts and you will be good.