Ram Heavy Duty Forum

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mountain Camper

Stumblefoot

Reaction score
Newbie here that’s been lurking for weeks and just starting to contribute. Never owned a pickup before, but come from a long line who has including father who was a stone mason and father-in-law who is a farmer. FiL is a Ford man while Dad was a Chevy man. Upon his retirement, Dad bought his first ever RAM and before he passed said it was the best truck he ever owned.

Like new member Gondul on here, camping is what brings me to the forum. We’ve camped for years in tents and a pop-up, but once we hit our 50’s decided it was time to treat ourselves by upgrading to a TT. Started our research over 2-years ago and ultimately settled on a light weight TT that was just outside our SUV’s capabilities. So, started to search for a 1/2-ton and learned a lot. When we discovered GMC and FCA were going to be updating their 1500’s we decided to wait for the release.

As you can imagine, time can create some weird havocs in one’s life. By the time the new 1/2-tons were released, wife had decided she wanted something nicer in a TT than what we had picked out. So, the search started anew. Of course, we settled on TT outside the capabilities of the 1500s, so we’ve been waiting patiently on the new 2500’s. GMC won’t be out with their new redesign until the fall and while I really wish RAM was a complete redesign, it’s changed enough for me to not wait on GMC.